“Teenage Frankenstein” – Alice Cooper

Teenage Frankenstein is a song written in 1986 by Alice Cooper. The song tells the story of a teenager who seems to reflect the personality and physical appearance of Victor’s monster also known as “Frankenstein”.  Like the creature, the kid seems to have a complex about his physical appearance because he differs from the society’s standards.


ALICE COOPER LYRICS

“Teenage Frankenstein” 

I’m the kid on the block
With my head made of rock
And I ain’t got nobody
I’m the state of the art
Got a brain a la carte
I make the babies cry

I ain’t one of the crowd
I ain’t one of the guys
They just avoid me
They run and they hide
Are my colours too bright
Are my eyes set too wide
I spend my whole life
Burning, turning

I’m a teenage Frankenstein
The local freak with the twisted mind
I’m a teenage Frankenstein
These ain’t my hands
And these legs ain’t mine

Got a synthetic face
Got some scars and a brace
My hands are rough and bloody
I walk into the night
Women faint at the sight
I ain’t no cutie-pie

I can’t walk in the day
I must walk in the night
Stay in the shadows
Stay out of the light
Are my shoulders too wide
Is my head screwed on tight
I spend my whole life
Burning, turning

I’m a teenage Frankenstein
The local freak with the twisted mind
I’m a teenage Frankenstein
These ain’t my hands
And these legs ain’t mine


As demonstrated, the feeling of loneliness seen in Mary Shelley’s antagonist is still present in the 21th century society.  The following passage from the lyrics shows the impact of loneliness on the kid’s behavior:  “I can’t walk in the day/ I must walk in the night/ Stay in the shadows/ Stay out of the light”.  It depicts the moment in the book when the creature hides himself out in the woods to avoid the judgment of society, but in today’s context.

By Jamie-Lee Valcourt 

Sources: 

  • “Teenage Frankenstein” as written by Robert William Athis Alice Cooper

Lyrics © Sony/ATV Music Publishing LLC, Warner/Chappell Music, Inc.

  • Music video by Alice Cooper performing Teenage Frankenstein. (C) 1986 Geffen Records

7 thoughts on ““Teenage Frankenstein” – Alice Cooper

  1. Thomas Simpson says:

    I really appreciate this post because I once had the opportunity to see Alice Cooper live in 2015! Fortunately he did perform this song live, and it was incredible. He uses a variety of props, so during the song there was a giant Frankenstein Monster onstage that went into the crowd, crazy stuff.
    Your insight on how the teenager seems to reflect the personality and physical appearance of the monster is pretty neat. I never thought about this song in that way, and now my view on it will always be changed.
    Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    • TGIFrankenstein says:

      You are so lucky! Alice Cooper is one of the rare artists who lives his songs! When he builds the monster on stage, he seems to play Victor Frankenstein. The only difference is that the monster is being killed at the end of the video, but not in the novel. However, Cooper probably had a good reason to do so ! haha
      Thank you Thomas 🙂
      (Jamie)

      Like

  2. isagrondin says:

    Wow! I did not know this song prior to seeing your post, so, thank you for that. It’s really an amazing song! Your analysis is great but I would maybe add that the lyrics reflect the anguish that the creature feels in the novel as he says “They just avoid me / They run and they hide,” just like people avoid and fear the creature in Shelley’s novel.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

